Dottie -  - 9781526653468

Disponible en la librería en la planta primera (Lecturas en Ingles)
By the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature
A searing tale of a young woman re-discovering her troubled family history and finding herself in the process.
In post-World War II England, 17-year-old Dottie Badoura Fatma Balfour knows nothing of her family origins, and little of their history - or the abuse her ancestors suffered as they made their home in Britain. But Dottie knows what her family means to her, and in the wake of her mother's death, she's determined to keep the family together. She takes responsibility for her younger siblings, Sophie and Hudson.
But as Sophie drifts from man to man, and the confused Hudson is absorbed into a world of crime, Dottie is forced to consider her own needs. Feeling rootless in England, she seeks a space for herself and an identity through books and begins to clear a path through life. Gradually, Dottie gathers the confidence to take risks, to forge friendships and to challenge the labels that have been forced upon her.
For readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Zadie Smith, Dottie is a deeply compassionate portrait of a second generation immigrant, a masterful examination of poverty and racism, and a psychologically nuanced story of family and survival.
Gurnah is a master storyteller Aminatta Forna Financial Times
100% Pago seguro | 3 a 5 días

EAN: 9781526653468
Editado por: Bloomsbury Publishing
Materia: Lecturas en inglés
Idioma: Inglés
Publicado el: 10 Noviembre 2021
Nº Edición: 1
Nº páginas: 405
Encuadernación: Rústica
Valoración de los lectores: